Record Store Day

Today is Record Store Day, and I headed down to Oxford’s new indie record store, the Truck Store. I picked up a few nice things while I was there.

  1. Best Coast, Crazy for You. I think my initial enthusiasm for the lo-fi/garage/surf revival had waned slightly by the time this came out, so I never picked it up last year. But it’s a fun record of summery pop and at a RSD ‘special price’ I was pleased to grab it. 
    UPDATE: Hogie *loves* dancing to this song, he kicks like crazy whenever she sings the chorus!
  2. Bill Callahan, Apocalypse. He keeps pursuing his own idiosyncratic version of the singer-songwriter, and this new one will I’m sure be interesting again. Baby’s Breath MP3, via The Needle Drop.
  3. Vivan Girls, I Heard You Say 7″. A RSD limited edition of single from their latest record.
  4. 13th Floor Elevators, Wait For My Love/May The Circle Remain Unbroken 7″, remastered by Sonic Boom, on sweet green vinyl. May the Circle Remain Unbroken MPS, via The Decibel Tolls
  5. Earth, Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light 2LP, on mottled green etched heavy vinyl, should be awesome. Sorry I missed them in London last week.
  6. Swans, My Father Will Guide Me Up a Rope to the Sky. I never owned a Swans record before, though they’ve been on my radar for a long time. Interested to find out whether I’ve been missing out all these years…
  7. Low, C’mon. It’s Low, so you kind of know what to expect, but I’ve heard only good things about this new one.
  8. Sleater-Kinney, Dig Me Out and One Beat. These two just because they were there…
Leave a Reply

